Dreams of advancing to the PGA Tour go up in smoke after moving the ball 3cm
In the final match of the Korn Ferry Tour season, an American professional golfer (PGA) placed the ball 3cm away from the marked spot and lost his PGA Tour card.
According to CNN on the 12th (Korean time), in the final round of the Korn Ferry Tour Tour Championship, which ended in Indiana, USA on the 9th, Shadow Turtin (USA) shot 4 over par 76 and tied for 28th place.
Turtin, who finished the season ranked 32nd in Korn Ferry Tour points, failed to receive next year’s PGA Tour card, which is given to the top 30 players.
However, if it were not for the two-stroke penalty he received on the 15th hole (par 5), Turtin could have finished the tournament in a tie for 19th place and easily entered the top 30 in Korn Ferry Tour points.
Two penalty strokes changed Turtin’s fate.
The reason Turtin received a penalty was because of his carelessness.
In the final round, ‘Preferred Lie’ was applied, which allows you to pick up the ball, clean it, and then place it back in its original position and hit. This was because the course was wet with rain and there was a lot of mud on the ball.
He picked up the ball from the 15th hole fairway, cleaned it, and put it back down. However, the ball rolled slightly to the right of where it originally was.
The distance was only 3cm or so, but it was not in the original position. He should have picked up the ball again and put it back in its original position, but he ended up hitting the ball like that.
This scene caught the eye of the match committee member who was watching the game on a TV monitor.
“When he first put the ball down, it moved,” said Jim Duncan, vice president of competition operations and rules for the Korn Ferry Tour. “When that happens, you have to put the ball back in its original position, but he didn’t do that. We had no choice but to impose a penalty stroke for bad play,” NBC said. said to
Turtin, 31, who had dreamed of entering the PGA Tour while playing on the Korn Ferry Tour and Latin American Tour since becoming a professional player in 2015, ended up losing the PGA Tour card he had almost acquired in a moment of mistake.